Obama Understands Our Environmental Problem: “We can’t solve global warming because I f—ing changed light bulbs in my house.”

Newsweek picked up this off-the-record comment by Senator Obama prior barack-obama1to the debates:

“I don’t consider this to be a good format for me, which makes me more cautious. I often find myself trapped by the questions and thinking to myself, ‘You know, this is a stupid question, but let me … answer it.’ So when Brian Williams is asking me about what’s a personal thing that you’ve done [that’s green], and I say, you know, ‘Well, I planted a bunch of trees.’ And he says, ‘I’m talking about personal.’ What I’m thinking in my head is, ‘Well, the truth is, Brian, we can’t solve global warming because I f—ing changed light bulbs in my house. It’s because of something collective’.”

The beauty of this unscripted, honest response to climate change is that it demonstrates that Barack Obama isn’t just about the superficial, pop-media responses to the crisis, he has a deeper understanding of the work we have in front of us.  He realizes that this isn’t something that a few token efforts will solve, it will require sweeping changes in how we live, how we utilize energy and our resources, and massive changes in our fuel and energy infrastructure.  He knows that it’s not about the effing light bulbs.

via treehugger.com

4 Responses to “Obama Understands Our Environmental Problem: “We can’t solve global warming because I f—ing changed light bulbs in my house.””

  1. Too bad Obama can’t put a price tag on his ideas.

  2. Stefan Teitge Says:

    I disagree. It is the little changes that we make in each of our lives, that if multiplied on a broad scale produces the global changes. Sadly, these changes don’t occur on a broad scale through peoples idealism, but rather through the free market (which can hopefully be better managed and regulated than in recent years). Case in point the significant demand drop for oil with the recent high prices (and the demand increase for relatively fuel efficient transportation). If green alternatives become more affordable than their not so green counterparts then changes will occur. But, enviornmental change will be resultant from the accumulative changes of the masses and that starts with changing your f-ing lightbulbs.

  3. I completely agree with you – it is indeed what we do in each of our daily lives that truly makes a difference. I should have included that in the discussion. However, my point is that there needs to be serious cooperative action taken beyond these very important small-scale changes. We need towns, counties, states, and countries working actively at various levels to shift our energy economy and resource streams.

  4. PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA IS BRILLIANT!

    The American people know that Barack Obama will diligently attend to matters related to environmental problems.

    Speaking of Barack Obama—Barack Obama is a racial-minority individual and does not like racism:

    And Michelle Obama is a racial-minority individual and does not like racism:

    SCANDALS! SCANDALS!

    SOME OF THE WORST CASES OF RACIAL PREJUDICE IN WORLD HISTORY!

    CONSTRUCTIVE WORLDWIDE DISSEMINATION OF INFORMATION RELATING TO SCANDALS:

    (I) I do solemnly swear by Almighty God that George W. Bush committed atrocious, racist, hate crimes of epic proportions and with the stench of terrorism which I am not at liberty to mention. Many people know what Bush did. And many people will know what Bush did—even until the end of the world. Bush was absolute evil. Bush is now like a fugitive from justice. Bush is a psychological prisoner. Bush often worries. In any case, Bush will go down in history in infamy.

    (II) It is opined that Bill Clinton committed terrifying, racist, hate crimes during his presidency, and I am not free to say anything further about it. ‘Be sure your sins will find you out’ (Numbers 32:23).

    (III) What if basically all racial-minority people would subscribe to the interpretations that George Herbert Walker Bush committed monstrous, racist, hate crimes while he was the President of the United States? It will eventually come out: it is only a matter of time.

    (IV) I know it may be hard to believe. However, Ronald Wilson Reagan committed horrible, racist, hate crimes during his presidency.

    – A.W.

    (There are thousands of copies on the Internet (by March 29, 2009) indicating the contents of (I), (II), (III), and (IV). For example, one can go to Google right now, type “George W. Bush committed hate crimes of epic proportions and with the stench of terrorism,” hit “Enter,” and readily find 1,000 or more copies indicating content of (I). For example, one can go to Msn right now (11 April 2009), type “It is opined that Bill Clinton committed racist hate crimes, and I am not free to say anything further about it,” hit “Enter,” and readily find more than 440 copies indicating content of (II). For example, one can go to Msn right now, type “George Herbert Walker Bush committed monstrous, racist, hate crimes,” hit “Enter,” and readily find more than 190 copies indicating content of (III). For example, one can go to Msn right now, type “Ronald Wilson Reagan committed horrible, racist, hate crimes during his presidency,” hit “Enter,” and readily find more than 170 copies indicating content of (IV). And there are thousands of copies in very many countries around the world. For example, there are countless copies on the Internet in Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Japan, Korea, Russia, the United Kingdom, etc.)

    “BAD NEWS FROM THE UNITED STATES: ON THE RACIST HATE CRIMES AND ETERNAL INFAMIES OF GEORGE W. BUSH, BILL CLINTON, GEORGE H.W. BUSH, AND RONALD REAGAN” BLOG

    badnewsfromtheunitedstates.blogspot.com
    _______________
    ‘If only there could be a Ban against invention that bottled up memory like scent & it never faded & it never got stale.’ Off the top of my head, it came from my Lower Merion High School yearbook.

Leave a Reply

